In Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh AFSPA extended for 6 months, Home Ministry informed

AFSPA extended

New Delhi: The Central Government on Friday, March 24 extended AFSPA for 6 months in Nagaland and parts of Arunachal Pradesh. Explain that the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, of 1958 Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act gives security forces the right to conduct operations and arrest anyone without any prior warrant.

The Ministry of Home Affairs issued a notification
According to a notification issued by the Union Home Ministry, AFSPA will be implemented in 9 districts – 16 police stations in Dimapur, Newland, Chumoukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek, Peren, and Zunheboto and four will be extended for six months. It has also been extended to other districts of Nagaland including Kohima, Mokokchung, Longleng, and Wokha.

According to the Ministry of Home Affairs notification, the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 in the areas falling under the jurisdiction of Tirap, Changlang, and Longding Districts in Arunachal Pradesh (AP) and Namsai and Mahadevpur PS in Namsai District of AP for 6 months from today as they have been declared as disturbed areas.

AFSPA extended

16 police stations in four districts of Nagaland are included
As per the notification, the Central Government has extended the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 in nine districts and 16 police stations in four districts of Nagaland as disturbed areas for a further period of six months from today. While Nagaland has a total of 16 districts, Arunachal Pradesh has 26 districts.