EC Reschedule Assembly Vote Count in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim

Election Commission

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced a revision in the schedule for the upcoming assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim. The counting of votes, initially set for June 4, has been moved to June 2. This change aligns with the constitutional requirement to conclude the elections before the current legislative terms end on June 2, 2024.

The ECI’s decision ensures that the election process is completed promptly, adhering to the mandates of Article 324 in conjunction with Article 172(1) of the Constitution of India, as well as Section 15 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951. The rescheduling reflects the ECI’s commitment to uphold the democratic process within the constitutional framework.

Voters in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim will cast their ballots on April 19, with the results now set to be declared earlier than initially planned. The ECI has confirmed that there will be no changes to the schedule for the Parliamentary Constituencies in these states.

Election Commission

While the assembly vote count for these two northeastern states has been advanced, the counting for the Lok Sabha seats and the Andhra Pradesh and Odisha Assembly elections remains scheduled for June 4.