High Voter Turnout in Second Phase of Lok Sabha Elections Despite Heatwave and Technical Glitches

Lok Sabha Elections 2024-phase2

New Delhi: Amidst a scorching heatwave sweeping across several Indian states, the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections witnessed a commendable voter turnout of nearly 61%. The northeastern states of Tripura and Manipur, despite recent unrest in the latter, reported the highest turnouts at 78.53% and 77.18%, respectively. In contrast, Uttar Pradesh saw the lowest at 53.71%.

The Election Commission of India has announced that the elections proceeded with minimal disruptions. Although the preliminary voter turnout stood at 60.96% at 7 pm, this figure is expected to rise as final reports from all polling stations are compiled. Notably, voters in line at the close of the polling hour are entitled to cast their ballots.

The elections spanned 88 constituencies across 13 states and Union Territories. However, the process was not without its challenges, as there were reports of EVM malfunctions and allegations of bogus voting in Kerala and West Bengal.

The detailed data reveals that Tripura led with a 78.53% turnout, closely followed by Manipur’s 77.18%, while Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra recorded relatively lower turnouts of 53.71% and 53.84%, respectively. The elections encompassed all 20 seats in Kerala, 14 out of 28 in Karnataka, 13 in Rajasthan, 8 each in Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh, 6 in Madhya Pradesh, 5 each in Assam and Bihar, 3 each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal, and 1 each in Manipur, Tripura, and Jammu & Kashmir.

Among the prominent candidates were Congress leader Shashi Tharoor, Union Minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar, and actor-turned-politician Arun Govil. Other notable figures included DK Suresh of the Congress and former Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy of the JDS. From the BJP, Hema Malini, Om Birla, and Gajendra Singh Shekhawat sought re-election in their respective constituencies.

The polling, which commenced at 7 am, concluded at 6 pm, marking the end of voting in Kerala, Rajasthan, and Tripura. The next phase will see 94 seats across 12 states and UTs go to polls on May 7, with the results being tallied on June 4.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024-phase2

In an interesting turn of events, over 600 voters in a remote tribal village in Tripura’s Dhalai district abstained from voting to protest the poor condition of a critical 7-km stretch of road. Despite the Election Commission’s efforts to address their concerns, the villagers remained adamant in their demand for immediate repairs.

Voter Turnout Table:

State/UTSeatsVoter Turnout (%)
Uttar Pradesh853.71
Madhya Pradesh657.81
West Bengal371.84
Jammu & Kashmir171.91

(Note: The table reflects the available data at the time of reporting. Final figures may vary as additional reports are received.)