India’s spinners seal T20 series win over Australia in low-scoring thriller

Indias spinners seal T20 series win over Australia

Raipur: India clinched the T20 series against Australia with a 20-run victory in the fourth match at Raipur on Friday. The hosts defended a modest total of 174 for nine, thanks to their spin duo of Akshar Patel and Ravi Bishnoi, who shared four wickets between them. It was a maiden series win for Suryakumar Yadav as captain, who led the team in the absence of the injured Virat Kohli.

India’s innings were boosted by the late fireworks of Rinku Singh and Jitesh Sharma, who added 50 runs in 29 balls for the fifth wicket. Rinku scored 46 off 29 balls, while Jitesh made 35 off 19 balls. Earlier, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad gave India a solid start with a 50-run stand for the first wicket. Jaiswal scored 37 off 28 balls, while Gaikwad made 32 off 28 balls. However, India lost five wickets for seven runs in the last two overs, as Ben Dwarshuis and Jason Behrendorff struck with the ball for Australia.

Australia’s chase got off to a flying start, as Travis Head smashed 31 off 16 balls with five fours and a six. However, he fell to Akshar Patel in the sixth over, and India tightened their grip on the match. Patel also dismissed Aaron Hardy and Ben McDermott, while Bishnoi got rid of Josh Phillip. Australia were reduced to 87 for four in the 12th over, and never recovered from there. Tim David and Matthew Short tried to revive the innings, but both fell to Deepak Chahar in quick succession. Matthew Wade remained unbeaten on 36, but could not take his team over the line. Australia finished on 154 for seven, falling short by 20 runs.

Indias spinners seal T20 series win over Australia