India won ODI after 16 years from Australia in Wankhede, 1-0 lead in three-match series

india-australia 1st ODI

Mumbai: India defeated Australia by five wickets in the first ODI played at Wankhede in Mumbai. Batting first after losing the toss, the Australian team was reduced to 188 runs in 35.4 overs. Mitchell Marsh scored the highest innings of 81 runs for the Kangaroos.

In response, India achieved the target by losing five wickets in 39.5 overs. KL Rahul returned to the rhythm and played an unbeaten inning of 75 runs in 91 balls while batting well. Apart from him, Ravindra Jadeja also remained unbeaten after scoring 45 runs.
India won after coming out of the difficult situation

Chasing the target, at one stage India had lost four wickets for 39 runs. After this, Rahul shared a 44-run partnership with captain Hardik Pandya. After Hardik’s dismissal, Jadeja and Rahul shared an unbeaten 108-run partnership for the sixth wicket.

With this win, India has taken a 1-0 lead in the three-match ODI series over Australia. Now the next ODI will be played in Visakhapatnam on Sunday. Team India has defeated Australia after 16 years in ODIs at the Wankhede Stadium.

Victory over Australia in Wankhede after almost 16 years
Five ODIs have been played between the two at this ground. Out of this, India has won three and Australia has won two matches. Team India last defeated Australia at this ground in 2007 in ODIs. After this, in 2020, Australia defeated India on this ground. Now after almost 16 years, India has once again managed to defeat Australia. Ravindra Jadeja was adjudged player of the match for his all-around performance.

Australian innings
Australia had set a target of 189 runs in front of India. The Kangaroo team was reduced to 188 runs in 35.4 overs. At one time Australia’s score was 129 for two, after which the team lost eight wickets in scoring 59 runs. Australia had scored 129 runs for two wickets in 19.3 overs. Then Mitchell Marsh and Marnus Labushen were at the crease.

Ravindra Jadeja dismissed Marsh and after that, the entire team collapsed in 35.4 overs. That is, within 17 overs, India finished Australia’s innings. Mitchell Marsh scored the most runs for Australia. He played an inning of 81 runs in 65 balls. Apart from this, no batsman walked. Mohammad Shami and Mohammad Siraj took three wickets each.
Batting first, Australia had a poor start. Travis Head became the victim of Siraj by scoring five runs. After this, Mitchell Marsh and captain Steve Smith shared a 72-run partnership for the second wicket. Smith was caught by Hardik Pandya at the hands of wicketkeeper KL Rahul. He could score 22 runs. After this, Marsh shared a 52-run partnership for the third wicket with Labushen. Marsh was caught by Jadeja at the hands of Siraj. He returned to the pavilion after playing a blistering inning of 81 runs in 65 balls with the help of 10 fours and five sixes.

india-australia 1st ODI

The entire Australian team collapsed as soon as Marsh was dismissed. Labushen was caught by Kuldeep at the hands of Jadeja. He could score 15 runs. After this, the havoc of Mohammed Shami was seen. He took three wickets in his three overs. Josh English was first bowled in the 28th over. English could score 26 runs. After this, Cameron Green was bowled in the 30th over. Green could score 12 runs. Then in the 32nd over, Marcus Stoinis was caught in the slip by Shubman Gill. Stoinis got out after scoring five runs.

Jadeja got Maxwell caught by Hardik. Maxwell could score eight runs. At the same time, Siraj dismissed Shaun Abbott and Adam Zampa to wrap up the Australian innings for 188 runs. Shami and Siraj took three wickets each, while Jadeja got two wickets. Hardik and Kuldeep took one wicket each.

India’s innings
Chasing the target of 189 runs, the Indian team got off to a bad start. By 39 runs, India had lost its top four batsmen. Ishaan Kishan’s three runs, Shubman Gill’s 20 runs, Virat Kohli’s four runs, and Suryakumar Yadav were dismissed without opening the account. Mitchell Starc took three of the first four wickets. At the same time, Stoinis dismissed Hardik Pandya apart from Ishaan.

However, Rahul and Jadeja handled the innings and withstood the pressure to win Team India. Rahul scored his 13th half-century in his ODI career. He remained unbeaten on 75 off 91 balls with the help of seven fours and a six. At the same time, Jadeja hit five fours in his innings of 45 runs in 69 balls. For Australia, Stark took three and Stoinis took two wickets.