Pakistan Cricket Board Unveils Squad for T20 Series Against New Zealand

Pakistan Cricket Board

New Delhi: In a recent announcement from New Delhi, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has revealed its 17-player roster for the upcoming five-match T20 series against New Zealand. The team will see Babar Azam reclaiming the captaincy, succeeding Shaheen Shah Afridi in the role. Notably, the squad includes two players, Mohammad Aamir and Imad Wasim, who had previously stepped away from the sport but have now returned to the fold.

The series, set to commence on April 18th, will be hosted by Pakistan and is deemed crucial for both teams as they gear up for the T20 World Cup scheduled for June. The inclusion of Aamir and Wasim is seen as a strategic move by Azam, who is keen on having these experienced players as part of the World Cup team. Their selection for the World Cup, however, will hinge on their performance in the upcoming series against New Zealand.

Pakistan’s Squad for the T20 Series:

  • Captain: Babar Azam
  • Players: Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usama Mir, Usman Khan, Zaman Khan.
Pakistan Cricket Board

The PCB’s decision to include recently retired players underscores the team’s commitment to assembling a formidable lineup for the World Cup preparations.