PCB announced the Squad for the T20 World Cup 2024

Pakistan Cricket Board

New Delhi: In a much-anticipated announcement, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has finally unveiled its squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024, appointing the prolific Babar Azam as the team’s captain. This revelation completes the lineup of players from all 20 participating nations in the tournament, which is set to commence on June 1, hosted by the United States and the West Indies.

The selection process for the Pakistan cricket team was shrouded in uncertainty, with concerns over player injuries and internal disagreements reportedly causing delays. The PCB’s decision to withhold the name of the vice-captain and the absence of reserve players has added fuel to these speculations.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) had set May 24 as the deadline for all teams to declare their squads. Pakistan adhered to this timeline, announcing their team mere hours before the cutoff.

The T20 World Cup will feature 20 teams, with Pakistan placed in Group A alongside three other teams, including arch-rival India. The much-awaited India-Pakistan match is scheduled for June 9. India will kick off its campaign against Ireland on June 5, while Pakistan will face the host nation, America, on June 6.

The Pakistan squad boasts a mix of seasoned players and exciting new talent. Babar Azam leads the team, with Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Azam Khan, Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Abbas Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, and Abrar Ahmed rounding out the roster.

Pakistan Cricket Board

The selection has been met with both anticipation and scrutiny, as the PCB has chosen to invest in youth, giving several youngsters their first T20 World Cup call-up. The inclusion of experienced campaigners like Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim is expected to balance the side with a blend of agility and expertise.

Pakistan’s journey in the T20 World Cup will be closely watched, as they aim to replicate the success of their 2009 victory and improve upon their recent performances on the global stage.