Imran Khan and his wife barred from leaving country said Pak media

Imran Khan and wife

Islamabad: The government of Pakistan has barred at least 80 people from leaving the country, including former Prime Minister Imran Khan and his wife. This information was given in the media news on Thursday. Khan was arrested on May 9 in a corruption case that had led to violent protests across the country. Since then, several top party leaders including Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Khan are facing criminal cases.

“The federal government has decided to include the names of 80 people, including PTI chairman Imran Khan and his wife Bushra Bibi, in the no-fly list,” the Samaa news channel reported.

However, there is no official confirmation of the development from Khan’s party. The channel said that apart from Khan and Bushra, those added to the no-fly list include PTI leaders Murad Saeed, Malika Bukhari, Hammad Azhar, Qasim Suri, Asad Kaiser, Yasmin Rashid, and Mian Aslam. It also includes the name of Fawad Chaudhary who has already left the party.

According to the channel, the names of PTI leaders have been included in the list on the recommendation of the concerned institutions. The report said that the Police Department, the National Accountability Bureau, and the Anti-Corruption Bureau had requested the Home Ministry to include these names in the no-fly list.

Imran Khan and wife

It said that the police department, National Accountability Bureau, and the anti-corruption department had requested the Ministry of Interior to include these names on the no-fly list.

The no-fly list is maintained by the Ministry of Interior and officials deployed at airports or other land exit routes are provided the names of individuals who cannot go out.

Pakistan authorities maintain different categories of people who are banned from leaving the country for various reasons, including those who face corruption cases.

The no-fly list is maintained by the Ministry of Home Affairs and officials posted at airports and other exit points are given the names of people who are banned from leaving the country. When Khan was prime minister, the names of several high-profile people were included in the list, including Pakistan Muslim League-N leader and current prime minister Shehbaz Sharif.