Sonia Gandhi and two BJP leaders elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan without contest

Sonia Gandhi

Jaipur: In a rare occurrence, three candidates from different parties were elected to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan without any opposition on Tuesday. Former Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Bharatiya Janata Party’s Chunni Lal Garasiya, and Madan Rathore were declared winners by the election officer.

Mahavir Prasad Sharma, the principal secretary of the legislative assembly and the returning officer of Rajya Sabha, said that the three candidates were the only ones who had filed their nominations for the three seats for the biennial elections of Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan – 2024. As no one withdrew their names by the last date on Tuesday, they were declared elected unopposed. The voting, scheduled for February 27 if needed, was canceled.

The three seats were vacated by Dr. Manmohan Singh (Congress) and Bhupendra Singh (BJP), whose terms are ending on April 3, and Kirori Lal Meena (BJP), who resigned as MP in December after becoming an MLA. Rajasthan has 10 Rajya Sabha seats, of which Congress and four BJP will now hold six.

Sonia Gandhi’s election certificate was collected by Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee president Govind Singh Dotasara from the assembly. Garasiya and Rathore personally received their certificates. Several Congress leaders congratulated Sonia Gandhi on her election, including former chief minister Ashok Gehlot. Gehlot wrote on ‘X’ that her election would strengthen the voice of Rajasthan and energize the opposition. Dotasara and Sachin Pilot also expressed their congratulations.

Sonia Gandhi

On the other hand, BJP state president CP Joshi also congratulated his party candidates on their election. He wrote on ‘X’ that he wished a bright future for Garasiya and Rathore, who were elected as Rajya Sabha MPs from Rajasthan.