Karnataka MLC Elections Heat Up: Congress and BJP Announce Candidates

Karnataka MLC Elections

Bengaluru: With the Lok Sabha elections concluded, Karnataka is gearing up for the Legislative Council (MLC) elections. On Sunday, the Congress released a list of seven candidates, including prominent figures such as Karnataka Science and Technology Minister N.S. Bosraju and Dr. Yatindra Siddaramaiah, the son of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has also revealed its three candidates for the upcoming election. These elections were necessitated by the retirement of 11 MLC members on June 17.

Congress Announces Seven Candidates

The Congress has put forth a diverse group of candidates for the MLC elections. The official list includes:

  • Dr. Yatindra Siddaramaiah, son of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah
  • N.S. Bosraju, Karnataka Science and Technology Minister
  • Vasant Kumar
  • K. Govindaraj
  • Ivan D’Souza
  • Bilkis Bano
  • Jagdev Guttedar

Additionally, Basanagouda Badarli has been nominated for the MLC by-election to fill the seat vacated by former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar’s resignation.

Shettar’s Political Journey

Jagadish Shettar, who previously rebelled against the BJP and briefly joined the Congress, has had a notable political journey. After not receiving a BJP ticket for last year’s assembly elections, he contested on a Congress ticket in 2023 but was unsuccessful. Despite the loss, the Congress appointed him as an MLC. Earlier this year, Shettar returned to the BJP and is now contesting the Lok Sabha elections from the Belgaum (Belagavi) constituency against Congress’ Mrinal Hebbalkar.

Karnataka MLC Elections

BJP’s Slate of Candidates

The BJP has announced its candidates for the MLC elections, featuring:

  • Former Minister CT Ravi
  • N Ravi Kumar
  • Party leader MG Mule

Key Dates

The deadline for nomination submissions is tomorrow, June 3. All candidates are expected to file their nominations by this date, with voting scheduled for June 13.

As the MLC elections approach, both parties are strategically positioning their candidates, signaling a heated and competitive political battle in Karnataka.