ICC T20 World Cup 2024: All you need to know about the mega event in America and West Indies

ICC World cup T20 2024

New Delhi: The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 is set to begin on June 4, 2024, with 20 teams competing for the coveted trophy in America and West Indies. The tournament will be spread across 17 days, with the final match scheduled for June 20, 2024. The ICC has released a promo video of the T20 World Cup on the social media platform X, featuring players from all the qualified teams and showcasing the excitement and thrill of the shortest format of the game.

The promo video, shared by the ICC on X, highlights the three elements that define cricket: bat, ball, and energy. The video also showcases the diversity and talent of the participating teams, as well as the scenic and historic venues that will host the matches. The ICC captioned the video, “T20I is built on the three things that define cricket – Bat, ball, and energy!”

One of the most remarkable stories of the T20 World Cup 2024 is the qualification of Uganda, who will make their debut in the global event. The Ugandan team secured their spot by finishing in the top two in the African region qualifiers, along with Namibia. Uganda, who are ranked 31st in the ICC T20I rankings, have shown impressive performances in recent years, winning the ICC World Cricket League Division Four in 2018 and the ICC Africa T20 Cup in 2019.

The T20 World Cup 2024 will also feature some of the most anticipated clashes between the top teams, such as India and Pakistan, who will likely face each other in Eisenhower Park, about 30 miles from New York City. The park has a capacity of 10,000 spectators and has hosted several cricket matches in the past. The India-Pakistan rivalry is one of the most intense and passionate in the cricket world, and the fans will be eagerly waiting to witness the encounter in the T20 World Cup.

The format of the T20 World Cup 2024 will be similar to the previous edition, held in 2016 in India and won by the West Indies. The 20 teams will be divided into four groups of five teams each, based on their ICC T20I rankings as of April 30, 2024. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super-8 round, where they will be split into two groups of four teams each. The top two teams from each Super-8 group will qualify for the semi-finals, and the winners of the semi-finals will play in the final.

ICC World cup T20 2024

The T20 World Cup 2024 will be the seventh edition of the tournament, which was first held in 2007 in South Africa and won by India. The tournament has seen six different champions so far, with West Indies being the only team to win it twice, in 2012 and 2016. The other winners are India (2007), Pakistan (2009), England (2010), Sri Lanka (2014) and Australia (2020). The T20 World Cup 2024 promises to be a thrilling and entertaining spectacle, as the best teams and players in the world will showcase their skills and talent in the shortest and most explosive format of the game.