Indore Elections: NOTA Surges, but Lalwani’s Victory Steals the Show

shankar lalwani

Indore: The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is poised to form the government, and amidst the election results, one leader stands out for his remarkable achievement. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Shankar Lalwani has clinched victory by an astounding margin of approximately 12 lakh votes from the Indore seat, surpassing even Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Amit Shah’s previous victories.

Shankar Lalwani’s Historic Triumph

Shankar Lalwani’s victory has etched a new chapter in Indian electoral history. With an impressive 12,26,751 votes, he left his closest rival, Sanjay Solanki of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), trailing far behind with a mere 51,659 votes. Lalwani’s winning margin stands at a staggering 11,75,092 votes.

In comparison, the 2019 elections saw BJP’s CR Patil secure the Navsar seat in Gujarat with 6,89,668 votes—the previous record for the largest victory margin. However, Lalwani’s triumph now claims that distinction.

NOTA Makes Waves in Indore

Indore’s election has captured national attention, not only due to Lalwani’s victory but also because of the unprecedented number of votes cast for None of the Above (NOTA). A staggering 2,18,674 voters opted for NOTA, marking the first time such a significant number of ballots have been cast in this category. Previously, Gopalganj in Bihar held the highest NOTA record with 51,660 votes during the 2019 elections. Now, Indore has taken the lead.

Break in Kamal Nath’s Stronghold

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) stellar performance in Madhya Pradesh has resulted in a clean sweep—29 out of 29 seats. The state has turned completely saffron, leaving no room for other parties to secure a foothold. Even Nakul Nath, son of Congress stalwart and former Chief Minister Kamal Nath, couldn’t retain his Chhindwara seat. BJP district unit president Vivek Bunty Sahu defeated him by a substantial margin of 1,13,618 votes. Sahu secured 6,44,738 votes, while Nakul Nath received 5,31,120 votes.

shankar lalwani

Kamal Nath, who had represented Chhindwara nine times in the Lok Sabha, faced a formidable challenge from the BJP. The party’s promise to secure the seat for Prime Minister Narendra Modi, unattained in 2019, has now been fulfilled.