69th Filmfare Awards: Ranbir Kapoor, Alia Bhatt, 12th Fail win big, Full list of winners

69th Filmfare Awards 2024

New Delhi: The 69th Filmfare Awards, presented by The Times Group, honored the best Hindi films of 2023. The two-day event, sponsored by Hyundai and Gujarat Tourism, was held at GIFT City, Gujarat on 27 and 28 January 2024. The ceremony was hosted by Karan Johar, Ayushmann Khurrana, and Maniesh Paul, and featured dazzling performances and inspiring speeches by the winners.

Best Film: 12th Fail

The coveted Best Film award went to 12th Fail, a drama film directed by Vidhu Vinod Chopra and starring Vikrant Massey. The film tells the story of a young man who struggles to make a living after failing his 12th-standard exams. The film received critical acclaim and commercial success and also won the Best Director award for Chopra.

12th Fail beat out other blockbuster films such as Jawan, Rocky Aur Rani Ki Prem Kahani, OMG 2, and Pathan, which were also nominated for the Best Film award. Massey, who played the lead role in the film, expressed his gratitude to Chopra and the audience for their support.

Best Actor: Ranbir Kapoor

Ranbir Kapoor won the Best Actor award for his dual role in Animal, a crime thriller film directed by Sandeep Reddy Vanga. Kapoor played Ranvijay Singh, a ruthless gangster, and Aziz Haque, a police officer who infiltrated his gang. The film was praised for its gripping storyline, intense action sequences, and Kapoor’s stellar performance.

Kapoor faced tough competition from other nominees such as Shah Rukh Khan, who was nominated for two films, Dunki and Jawan, Ranveer Singh for Rocky Aur Rani Ki Prem Kahani, Vicky Kaushal for Sam Bahadur and Sunny Deol for Gadar 2. Kapoor dedicated his award to his co-stars, his director and his fans.

Best Actress: Alia Bhatt

Alia Bhatt bagged the Best Actress award for her role in Rocky Aur Rani Ki Prem Kahani, a romantic comedy film directed by Karan Johar. Bhatt played Rani Chatterjee, a bubbly and ambitious girl who falls in love with Rocky Randhawa, a flamboyant and carefree boy, played by Ranveer Singh. The film was a hit among the audience and the critics and also won the Best Dialogue award for Ishita Moitra.

Bhatt beat other talented actresses such as Rani Mukerji for Mrs. Chatterjee vs Norway, Bhumi Pednekar for Thank You for Coming, Deepika Padukone for Pathan, Kiara Advani for Satyaprem Ki Katha and Taapsee Pannu for Dunki. Bhatt thanked Johar, Singh, and the entire team of the film for making it a memorable experience.

Other winners

Apart from the main awards, the ceremony also honored the winners in the technical, debut, and critics’ categories. The Best Supporting Actor award went to Vicky Kaushal for his role in Dunki, while the Best Supporting Actress award went to Shabana Azmi for her role in Rocky Aur Rani Ki Prem Kahani. The Best Male Debut award went to Aditya Rawal for his role in Faraz, while the Best Female Debut award went to Alizeh Agnihotri for her role in Farray.

The Critics’ Award for Best Film went to Joram, a dark comedy film directed by Devashish Makhija. The Critics’ Award for Best Actor went to Vikrant Massey for his role in 12th Fail, while the Critics’ Award for Best Actress was shared by Rani Mukerji for her role in Mrs. Chatterjee vs Norway and Shefali Shah for her role in Three of Us.

The Best Music Album award went to Animal, which featured songs by various composers and singers. The Best Lyrics award went to Amitabh Bhattacharya for the song Tere Vaaste from Zara Hatke Zara Bachke. The Best Playback Singer (Male) award went to Bhupinder Babbar for the song Arjan Vailly from Animal, while the Best Playback Singer (Female) award went to Shilpa Rao for the song Besharam Rang from Pathan.

The RD Burman Award for Upcoming Music Talent went to Shreyas Puranik for the song Satranga from Animal. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to veteran director David Dhawan, who has given many hit films in his career. He was presented the award by his son and actor Varun Dhawan.

The winners in the technical categories were announced on 27 January and included awards for Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Sound Design, Best Production Design, Best Costume Design, Best Action and Best VFX.

Full list of winners

The following table shows the full list of winners at the 69th Filmfare Awards:

Best Film12th Fail12th Fail
Best DirectorVidhu Vinod Chopra12th Fail
Best ActorRanbir KapoorAnimal
Best ActressAlia BhattRocky Aur Rani Ki Prem Kahani
Best Supporting ActorVicky KaushalDunki
Best Supporting ActressShabana AzmiRocky Aur Rani Ki Prem Kahani
Best Male DebutAditya RawalFaraz
Best Female DebutAlizeh AgnihotriFarray
Best Film (Critics)JoramJoram
Best Actor (Critics)Vikrant Massey12th Fail
Best Actress (Critics)Rani Mukerji and Shefali ShahMrs. Chatterjee vs Norway and Three of Us
Best Music AlbumAnimalAnimal
Best LyricsAmitabh BhattacharyaTere Vaaste from Zara Hatke Zara Bachke
Best Playback Singer (Male)Bhupinder BabbarArjan Vailly from Animal
Best Playback Singer (Female)Shilpa RaoBesharam Rang from Pathan
Best StoryAmit Rai and Devashish MakhijaOMG 2 and Joram
Best ScreenplayVidhu Vinod Chopra12th Fail
Best DialogueIshita MoitraRocky Aur Rani Ki Prem Kahani
Best Background ScoreHarshavardhan RameshwarAnimal
Best CinematographyAvinash Arun DhawareThree of Us
Best Production DesignSubrata Chakraborty and Amit RaySam Bahadur
Best Costume DesignSachin Lovelekar, Divvya Gambhir and Nidhhi GambhirSam Bahadur
Best Sound DesignKunal Sharma (MPSE) and Sync CinemaSam Bahadur and Animal
Best EditingJaskunwar Singh Kohli and Vidhu Vinod Chopra12th Fail
Best ActionSpiro Razatos, Anl Arasu, Craig MacRae, Yannick Ben, Kecha Khamphakdee and Sunil RodriguesJawan
Best VFXRed Chillies VFXJawan
Best ChoreographyGanesh AcharyaWhat Jhumka? from Rocky Aur Rani Ki Prem Kahani
RD Burman Award for Upcoming Music TalentShreyas PuranikSatranga from Animal
Lifetime Achievement AwardDavid Dhawan
69th Filmfare Awards 2024