The government of India Notified today the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA)


New Delhi, March 11: The government of India, led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has officially implemented the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) as of Monday, March 11. This landmark move paves the way for minority refugees from Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan to acquire Indian citizenship.

Key Provisions of the CAA:
The CAA aims to expedite the citizenship process for persecuted minorities from the aforementioned countries who arrived in India before December 31, 2014. The act specifically caters to six minority groups: Hindus, Christians, Sikhs, Jains, Buddhists, and Parsis. Notably, the legislation stipulates that these individuals are not required to present documentation to substantiate their displacement.

Application Process:
Affected individuals seeking citizenship under the CAA must submit their applications through a dedicated online portal established by the Central Government.

Security Measures:
In anticipation of public reaction, the government has bolstered security measures, particularly in North East Delhi, to maintain order and safety.


Background and Protests:
The CAA was initially passed by the Indian government on December 12, 2019. Protests erupted shortly thereafter, beginning in Assam on December 4, 2019. The dissent quickly spread nationwide, affecting regions such as Delhi, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, and Tripura. The unrest has led to the unfortunate loss of 27 lives, with 22 fatalities reported in Uttar Pradesh alone. Additionally, over a thousand individuals have been detained, and more than 300 cases have been filed against protesters.