High-Stakes Showdown: Lok Sabha Elections Reach Climax in Final Phase

loksabha Final round 2024

New Delhi: In a pivotal moment for Indian democracy, the seventh and final phase of the Lok Sabha elections is underway today. Voters across 57 constituencies are heading to the polls, spanning seven states and one Union Territory. Key details here:

1. Constituencies in the Spotlight

Varanasi: Modi’s Third Consecutive Bid

  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi seeks re-election from the historic city of Varanasi. His dominance in this high-profile constituency is being challenged by Congress candidate Ajay Rai, backed by the opposition INDIA bloc.

Patna Sahib: Battle for Bihar

  • Former Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad aims to retain the Patna Sahib seat, a stronghold for the BJP. His opponent, Anshul Abhijeet (Congress), is the son of former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.

Ghazipur: Ansari’s Bid for Samajwadi Party

  • Afzal Ansari, representing the Samajwadi Party, hopes to secure victory in Ghazipur. The BJP fields Parasnath Rai, while BSP’s Umesh Kumar Singh adds a triangular dimension to the contest.

2. States in the Fray

  • Uttar Pradesh: 13 seats out of 80 constituencies
  • Punjab: All 13 seats
  • Himachal Pradesh: All four seats
  • Jharkhand: Three seats out of 14 constituencies
  • Odisha: Six seats out of 21 constituencies
  • Bihar: Eight seats out of 40 constituencies
  • West Bengal: Nine seats out of 42 constituencies
  • Chandigarh: The sole seat in the Union Territory

3. Candidates and Assets

  • A total of 904 candidates are vying for victory in this final phase.
  • Among them, 809 are male, and 95 are female candidates.
  • The richest candidate in this phase is Harsimrat Kaur Badal from Bathinda, Punjab, with assets worth Rs 198 crore.

4. By-Elections and Assembly Seats

  • Alongside the Lok Sabha elections, by-elections for six assembly seats in Himachal Pradesh and voting for the remaining 42 assembly seats in Odisha are also taking place.

5. Overall Picture

  • Voting has already occurred on 485 seats during the previous six phases, leaving the final 57 seats up for grabs today.
  • In Gujarat, BJP candidate Mukesh Dalal from Surat secured an uncontested victory, reducing the total contested seats to 542.

Stay tuned as the nation awaits the election results, which will be counted on June 4. The fate of India’s 18th Lok Sabha hangs in the balance, and citizens have exercised their democratic right to shape the future of the country.