Asif Ali Zardari Elected as Pakistan’s President for a Second Term

Asif Ali Zardari

Islamabad: In a significant political event, Asif Ali Zardari, co-chairman of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), has been elected as the 14th President of Pakistan. The election, which took place on Saturday, saw Zardari, aged 68, emerge victorious as the joint candidate of the PPP and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N). His opponent, Mahmood Khan Achakzai, represented the Sunni Ittehad Council.

Election Results:

  • Asif Ali Zardari: 255 votes
  • Mahmood Khan Achakzai: 119 votes

Zardari’s victory marks his second term as President, having previously served from 2008 to 2013. This election makes him the first civilian in the nation’s history to be elected to the presidency twice.

Electoral Process:
The President of Pakistan is elected by an electoral college comprising newly elected members of the National Assembly and the four provincial assemblies. Zardari secured the majority of votes in the Sindh Assembly, where his party holds power, and received unanimous support in the Balochistan Assembly. Additionally, he triumphed over Achakzai in the Punjab Assembly.

However, in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, where the Sunni Ittehad Council/Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf party has a strong presence, Achakzai led the vote count against Zardari.

Asif Ali Zardari

Background of Asif Ali Zardari:
Zardari, a businessman-turned-political leader, is widely recognized as the spouse of the late former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto. His ascent to the presidency will see him succeed Dr. Arif Alvi, whose five-year term concluded the previous year.

Zardari’s election is a testament to his enduring influence in Pakistani politics and sets the stage for his leadership in the coming years.