Wealth of 71 MPs who won third consecutive time increased by 286%: ADR Report

Wealth of 71 MPs

New Delhi: There is still more than a year left for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Earlier, the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) told in a report that the average assets of 71 MPs elected for three consecutive terms between 2009 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections have increased by 286 percent. In this, the average property of each MP has increased by Rs 17.59 crore.

According to the study, the average assets of these 71 re-elected MPs, fielded by various parties, including independents, in 2009 was Rs 6.15 crore. But the average assets of these MPs who were re-elected in 2014 increased to Rs 16.23 crore. Talking about the last election i.e. 2019, the average assets of 71 MPs became Rs 23.75 crore.

Harsimrat Kaur’s wealth increased the most
Among the MPs whose assets have increased the most, there are six BJP MPs. One MP each from NCP, Shiromani Akali Dal, BJD, and AIUDF is in the top ten. In the forefront is Shiromani Akali Dal MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal from Bathinda’s seat. Former Union Minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal’s assets have seen the highest increase of Rs 157.68 crore in ten years. Badal’s assets were Rs 60.31 crore in 2009, which increased to Rs 217.99 crore in 2019.

The second name in this list comes from Sharad Pawar’s daughter and NCP MP from Baramati Supriya Sule. Sule’s assets increased from Rs 51.53 crore in 2009 to Rs 140.88 crore in 2019. His wealth increased by Rs 89.35 crore in ten years.
BJD MP from Puri seat, Pinaki Mishra, comes third in the matter of wealth addition. Mishra’s wealth increased by Rs 87.78 crore in ten years. His assets were Rs 29.69 crore in 2009 which increased to Rs 117.47 crore in 2019.

Varun Gandhi’s wealth increased by 1124 percent in ten years
Among the MPs of the ruling BJP at the Centre, PC Mohan has seen the highest increase in assets. In 2009, Karnataka Bangalore MP Mohan’s assets were five crores, which increased to 75 crores in 2019. The name of the BJP MP from Pilibhit Varun Gandhi is also in the top ten. Varun’s assets were 4.92 crores in 2009, which increased to 60.32 crores in 2019. His wealth has increased by 1124 percent. Another prominent name in this episode is that of BJP MP Maneka Gandhi from Sultanpur. In 2009, Maneka’s assets were 17 crores, which increased to 55 crores in 2019.

Maximum assets of BJP MPs increased, Congress on second
In terms of an increase in the average assets of MPs elected for three consecutive terms, the BJP has the maximum number of 43 MPs. In ten years, the assets of these BJP MPs have increased by an average of 15 crores. In 2009, their average assets were four crores, which increased to 20 crores in 2019.

Wealth of 71 MPs

The second largest party, in this case, is Congress, with an average increase of Rs 10 crore in the assets of its 10 MPs. In 2009, their average assets were five crores, which increased to 16 crores in 2019. The third name in this episode is that of Trinamool Congress, the ruling party of West Bengal. Out of 71, the assets of its seven Lok Sabha members have increased by an average of five crores. The average assets of Trinamool Congress MPs winning since 2009 was 76 lakhs, which increased to 5.9 crores in 2019. Similarly, with two MPs each, BJD and Shiv Sena are at number four and five respectively. Apart from this, AIMIM, AIUDF, IUML, JD(U), and NCP are also in the top ten with one MP each.