Shubman Gill replaces Hardik Pandya as Gujarat Titans captain for IPL 2024

The young opener will lead the team for the first time

shubham Gill

Mumbai: Gujarat Titans have appointed Shubman Gill as the new captain of the team for the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. The young opener will lead the team for the first time, replacing Hardik Pandya, who has returned to his old team Mumbai Indians.

Gujarat Titans announced the decision on their social media accounts, saying that Shubman Gill is ready to lead the team in the new season. They wished him all the best for this and wrote “auspicious beginning”. Shubman Gill is 24 years old and has recently participated in the World Cup 2023, where he performed well for India.

Gujarat Titans have been part of the IPL since 2022 when they joined as a new franchise. They won the title in their debut season under the leadership of Hardik Pandya, who was bought for Rs 15 crore. They reached the final again in 2023 but lost to Chennai Super Kings. They have retained and released players for the new season of the IPL, which will have 10 teams. The auction is scheduled to be held on December 19, 2023.

Shubman Gill has a good record in the IPL and T20 cricket
Shubman Gill has a good record in the IPL and T20 cricket. So far, he has played 91 matches in the IPL, scoring 2790 runs at an average of 38. He has scored 3 centuries and 18 half-centuries, with a highest score of 129 runs. His strike rate is 134. He joined the IPL in 2018 and has played for Kolkata Knight Riders and Gujarat Titans.

In his overall T20 career, Shubman Gill has scored 3771 runs in 120 innings of 123 matches at an average of 37. He has scored 5 centuries and 22 half-centuries, which means he has played innings of more than 50 runs 27 times. He has also hit 122 sixes.

Shubman Gill is known for his elegant and aggressive batting style, and his ability to play shots all around the ground. He is also a good fielder and a part-time bowler. He will be responsible for leading a strong and balanced team with players like Kane Williamson, Rashid Khan, David Miller, and Mohammed Shami.

The retained and released players of Gujarat Titans

Here are the lists of the retained and released players of Gujarat Titans for IPL 2024:

shubham Gill

Retained players

  • Shubman Gill (Captain)
  • Abhinav Manohar
  • Sai Sudarshan
  • Darshan Nalkande
  • David Miller
  • Jayant Yadav
  • Joshua Little
  • Kane Williamson
  • Matthew Wade
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Mohit Sharma
  • Noor Ahmed
  • R Sai Kishore
  • Rahul Tewatia
  • Rashid Khan
  • Vijay Shankar
  • Wriddhiman Saha

Released players

  • Hardik Pandya
  • Cameron Green
  • Krunal Pandya
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Mandeep Singh
  • Nitish Rana
  • Rahul Chahar
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Navdeep Saini
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Varun Chakravarthy