KKR Clinch Third IPL Title with Dominant Victory Over Sunrisers Hyderabad

KKR won 2024 finals

New Delhi: In a thrilling IPL 2024 final, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) emerged victorious by defeating the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in a one-sided contest. KKR’s clinical performance restricted SRH to a paltry 113 runs, and they chased down the target in just 10.3 overs. This victory marks KKR’s third IPL title, cementing their place as one of the most successful franchises in the tournament’s history.

Match Details:

  • Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  • Toss: Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and elected to bat first
  • Result: Kolkata Knight Riders won by 8 wickets

Key Moments:

  • SRH Struggles: Sunrisers Hyderabad, known for their strong batting lineup, faltered in the final. KKR’s bowlers, led by Mitchell Starc, dismantled SRH’s top order, reducing them to 51/4 in 7.6 overs.
  • Starc’s Magic: Mitchell Starc delivered a sensational performance, taking two crucial wickets in his spell. His unplayable delivery to dismiss Abhishek Sharma was a highlight of the match.
  • KKR’s Chase: KKR’s openers, Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Sunil Narine, provided a solid start. Venkatesh Iyer and Shreyas Iyer continued the momentum, and KKR reached the target comfortably.

Gautam Gambhir’s Influence:

  • Gautam Gambhir, the mentor of KKR, played a pivotal role in their success. Notably, KKR had previously won the IPL title twice (in 2012 and 2014) under Gambhir’s captaincy. His guidance and strategic insights have been invaluable to the team.


  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: 113/4 in 20 overs
    • Abhishek Sharma: 2 runs
    • Travis Head: 0 runs
    • Rahul Tripathi: 9 runs
    • Aiden Markram: 18* runs
    • Nitish Kumar Reddy: 13 runs
  • KKR Bowlers:
    • Mitchell Starc: 2 wickets
    • Vaibhav Arora: 1 wicket
    • Harshit Rana: 1 wicket
KKR won 2024 finals

Player of the Match:

  • Mitchell Starc (KKR) for his impactful bowling performance.

KKR’s dominant victory in the IPL 2024 final will be remembered as one of the most lopsided finals in the tournament’s history.