RJD’s five sitting MLCs join Nitish Kumar led JD(U)


Patna: In a major jolt to the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) ahead of the Legislative Council polls in Bihar, five sitting MLCs joined Nitish Kumar led Janata Dal (United) today.

The assembly poll in the state is also due in October-November.

The RJD which had eight MLCs, is now left with only three MLCs. The MLCs who defected to JD(U) are Radha Charan Shah, Sanjay Prasad, Dilip Rai, Md Kamar Alam and Ranvijay Kumar Singh.

The MLCs who joined the JD(U) do not face anti-defection law as they form two-thirds of the total number of MLCs of the RJD.

A letter about formal joining of the RJD MLCs was forwarded by chief whip of the JD(U) Reena Devi to the acting chairman of the legislative council.

The Chairman of legislative council recognized all five RJD MLCs as JD (U) members in the house.

Political development has made the JD(U) with 21 MLCs as the single largest party in the 75-member council, which presently has a strength of 46 as 29 seats are lying vacant.

The BJP has 16 MLCs in the council and also has the support of an independent MLC. The polling for nine seats is scheduled on July 6.

Meanwhile Raghubansh Prasad Singh has resigned from the post of vice president of the party, today.