Om Birla Re-elected as Speaker for 18th Lok Sabha by Voice Vote


New Delhi: In a significant development during the ongoing parliamentary session, Om Birla, the BJP-led NDA candidate, secured re-election as the Speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha. The proceedings on the third day witnessed this crucial litmus test for the Modi government.

Key Points:

  • Election by Voice Vote: Om Birla’s election took place through a voice vote, following a motion moved by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Union Minister Rajnath Singh and JD(U) leader Lalan Singh seconded the motion.
  • Failed Consensus: The election became necessary after the NDA and the INDIA bloc failed to reach a consensus on a Speaker candidate. The opposition INDIA bloc fielded K Suresh against Om Birla.
  • Second Term as Speaker: Om Birla, who previously served as the Speaker of the 17th Lok Sabha, will now hold the position for a second term.
  • Birla’s Political Journey: Hailing from Rajasthan’s Kota, Om Birla began his political career as a student leader. He has been elected to the Rajasthan Assembly three times and won his first Lok Sabha election in 2014. In the recent general election, he secured victory in Rajasthan’s Kota-Bundi seat, defeating Congress’s Ramnarayan Meena by a substantial margin.
  • Parliamentary Record: Known for his conscientious approach, Birla maintained an 86% average attendance in the House during the 16th Lok Sabha. He actively participated in debates, asked questions, and introduced private members’ bills. His leadership in the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM) further underscores his commitment to public service.

Prime Minister Modi congratulated Om Birla on behalf of the entire House, emphasizing the Speaker’s crucial role in guiding parliamentary proceedings for the next five years. With his experience and dedication, Om Birla continues to play a pivotal role in India’s legislative landscape.