Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Phase 4 Voting Overview

Loksabha Elections Phase-4

New Delhi: The fourth phase of the 18th Lok Sabha Elections is scheduled for May 13, 2024, encompassing 96 seats across nine states and one union territory. This phase is critical as it includes all constituencies in Andhra Pradesh and a significant number in Telangana.

State-wise Breakdown of Constituencies:

  • Andhra Pradesh (25 seats): Voters from Araku to Kadapa will cast their ballots, covering a diverse demographic, including Scheduled Tribes (ST) and Scheduled Castes (SC).
  • Telangana (17 seats): Constituencies range from Adilabad to Khammam, with a focus on both general and reserved seats.
  • Uttar Pradesh (13 seats): Key battlegrounds like Kannauj and Kanpur are up for grabs, with a mix of general and SC seats.
  • Maharashtra (11 seats): The electoral fight spans from Nandurbhar to Beed.
  • West Bengal (8 seats): From Baharampur to Birbhum, the state’s political landscape will be tested.
  • Madhya Pradesh (8 seats): Voters in areas from Dewas to Khandwa will decide their representatives.
  • Bihar (5 seats): Seats like Begusarai and Munger are set to witness fierce contests.
  • Jharkhand and Odisha (4 seats each): These states will see key contests in constituencies like Khunti and Kalahandi.
  • Jammu and Kashmir (1 seat): The Srinagar constituency will be closely watched.

Key Candidates and Constituencies:

  • Akhilesh Yadav (SP): Contesting from the Kannauj constituency in Uttar Pradesh.
  • Mahua Moitra (TMC): Facing off against BKP’s Amrita Roy in Bengal’s Krishnanagar.
  • Yusuf Pathan (TMC) vs. Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary (Congress): A high-profile contest in Baharampur, West Bengal, with BJP’s Nirmal Kumar also in the fray.
  • Giriraj Singh (Union Minister, BJP): Seeking re-election from Bihar’s Begusarai.
  • YS Sharmila (Congress): Contesting from Kadapa, Andhra Pradesh, representing a political dynasty.
  • Arjun Munda (Union Minister, BJP): Running from the Khunti constituency in Jharkhand.
  • Shatrughan Sinha (TMC): Fielded in West Bengal’s Asansol, adding star power to the electoral battle.
  • Madhavi Latha (BJP): The actor-turned-politician is BJP’s choice for Hyderabad, Telangana.
  • Bandi Sanjay Kumar (BJP): Contesting from Karimnagar, Telangana, aiming to retain the seat.
Loksabha Elections Phase-4

This phase of elections will be a decisive moment for many political careers and could significantly influence the overall outcome of the Lok Sabha Elections.