India Gears Up for 2024 Lok Sabha Elections: Voting in Seven Phases Starting April 19

2024 Lok Sabha Elections

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India has set the stage for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, announcing a comprehensive schedule for the electoral process. The nation is poised to witness voting in seven distinct phases commencing on April 19, culminating in the vote count on June 4, with the final election results to be declared subsequently.

Election Schedule and Phases
Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, flanked by Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar, SS Sandhu, and other dignitaries, unveiled the election timeline. The current Lok Sabha’s term concludes on June 16, necessitating the formation of a new Lok Sabha before this date.

The election will unfold in the following phases:

  • First Phase: April 19, covering 102 seats across 21 states.
  • Second Phase: April 26, 89 seats in 13 states and union territories.
  • Third Phase: May 7, for 94 seats in 12 states.
  • Fourth Phase: May 13, targeting 96 seats in 10 states and union territories.
  • Fifth Phase: May 20, for 49 seats.
  • Sixth Phase: May 26, covering 57 seats.
  • Seventh Phase: June 1, also for 57 seats.

State Assembly Elections
In tandem with the Lok Sabha elections, state assembly elections are scheduled in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, and Odisha, with their respective assemblies’ tenures concluding in June.

Electoral Logistics and Accessibility
Approximately 97 crore voters are eligible to participate, facilitated by over 10.5 lakh polling stations. To ensure a smooth electoral process, 1.5 crore polling and security staff will be deployed. Notably, provisions have been made for voters above 85 years of age and those with a 40 percent disability to vote from their homes, enhancing accessibility and inclusivity.

Financial Seizures and Past Elections
Reflecting on the financial aspect of elections, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar highlighted that Rs 3400 crore was seized in the last 11 elections, marking an 835 percent increase.

Previous Parliamentary Election Recap
In the previous Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured 303 seats, while the Congress party obtained 52 seats. The upcoming elections present a pivotal moment for the opposition alliance ‘I.N.D.I.A.’ (Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance), as they face a critical ‘do or die’ contest.

2024 Lok Sabha Elections

The nation now looks forward to a democratic exercise of significant scale and importance, as the Lok Sabha elections of 2024 promise to shape the future trajectory of India’s governance and policy-making.

See the Election Commission full program here