India became the Asian Trophy champion for the fourth time, beating Malaysia in a thrilling final


CHENNAI: The Indian men’s hockey team lifted the title for the fourth time after defeating Malaysia 4-3 in a thrilling final of the Asian Champions Trophy. In the final played in Chennai, the host India was trailing 1-3 till half time but India equalized 3-3 by scoring two goals within a minute. In the last moments, Akashdeep Singh ensured India’s victory by scoring a goal. Earlier, India had become champions in the years 2011, 2016, and 2018.

Jugraj Singh (9th minute), captain Harmanpreet Singh (45th), Gurjant Singh (45th), and Akashdeep Singh (56th) scored for India, while Abu Kamal Azrai (14th), Rahim Raji (18th), Mohd Aminudin (14th) scored for Malaysia. 28th scored the goals.