Heat, Heroes, and High Stakes: UP’s 14 Seats Head to Polls on May 20

loksabha 5th round 2024

New Delhi: In the upcoming fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections, voters in Uttar Pradesh will head to the polls on Monday, May 20. A total of 14 constituencies in the state are set to participate in this crucial electoral process. Let’s delve into the specifics:

Polling Arrangements and Precautions

  • Polling Parties Departing on Sunday: To ensure smooth conduct, polling parties will leave for their designated polling stations on Sunday. These teams play a vital role in managing the electoral process, and timely dispatch is essential.
  • Special Medical Kits for Polling Workers: Recognizing the scorching heat, authorities have issued instructions to provide special medical kits to every polling worker. These kits include essential supplies to address health concerns during their duty.
  • Heat Protection Measures at Polling Booths: The responsibility for making arrangements to protect against the heat at polling booths lies with the District Election Officers. Measures such as shade, water, and other facilities will be in place to safeguard both voters and polling personnel.

Constituencies Going to Polls

The 14 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh that will witness voting on May 20 are as follows:

  1. Mohanlalganj (SC)
  2. Lucknow
  3. Rae Bareli
  4. Amethi
  5. Jalaun (SC)
  6. Jhansi
  7. Hamirpur
  8. Banda
  9. Fatehpur
  10. Kaushambi (SC)
  11. Barabanki (SC)
  12. Faizabad
  13. Kaiserganj
  14. Gonda
loksabha 5th round 2024

Stalwarts in the Fray

The fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections holds significant stakes for several prominent leaders:

  • Defense Minister Rajnath Singh: His reputation is on the line as he contests from Lucknow.
  • Congress Leader Rahul Gandhi: The Rae Bareli seat is crucial for him.
  • Union Minister Smriti Irani: She faces a tough battle in Amethi.
  • Lucknow East Assembly By-Election: Alongside the Lok Sabha elections, four candidates are vying for victory in the Lucknow East Assembly by-election.