Election for 10 Rajya Sabha seats in Gujarat, Bengal, and Goa will be held on July 24: Election Commission

Election Commission

New Delhi: The Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday said that the biennial elections for 10 Rajya Sabha seats will be held on July 24. The Election Commission gave this information on Tuesday. In the Rajya Sabha, 10 seats are falling vacant in July and August, including Foreign Minister S.K. Jaishankar (Gujarat) and Trinamool Congress (TMC) leader Derek O’Brien (West Bengal).

The notification for the polls would be issued on July 6, the last date for nominations would be July 13 and the last date for withdrawal of candidatures would be July 17. Polling and counting would be held on July 24.

Other leaders whose terms are ending include Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) member Vinay D. Tendulkar from Goa, Jugalsinh Lokhandwala and Dineshchand Anavadia from Gujarat, TMC members Dola Sen, Sushmita Dev, Shanta Chhetri and Sukhendu Shekhar Rai from West Bengal. Are included. Congress member Pradeep Bhattacharya’s term is ending in August.

As per the convention, the counting of votes will take place on July 24 at 5 pm, an hour after the polling process is over. According to a statement issued by the commission, 10 members of the Upper House are retiring between July 28 and August 18 on completion of their six-year term.

Election Commission

In another statement, the commission has said that a by-election will also be held on July 24 to fill the vacancy in the Rajya Sabha following the resignation of TMC’s Luizinho Joaquim Faleiro from West Bengal. He resigned in April, though his term was to end in April 2026.