Election Commission to announce poll dates for five states today

Election Commission

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) is expected to announce the poll dates for the assembly elections in five states – Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana and Mizoram – today at 12 noon. The ECI has called a press conference in Delhi to declare the election schedule.

The assembly elections in these states are likely to be held in the last month of 2023. The term of the Mizoram assembly will end on December 17 this year, while the terms of the other four states will end in January next year.

The ECI has instructed the observers and officials to ensure that the elections are free, fair, transparent, and free from any inducement or violence. The ECI has also warned against the use of money power and freebies to influence the voters. The model code of conduct will be enforced effectively as soon as the election dates are announced.

A 17-member team led by Chief Election Commissioner Rajeev Kumar (CEC) visited Hyderabad last week to review the election preparations in Telangana, where the assembly was dissolved prematurely by the ruling party. The CEC said that the ECI is fully committed to conducting peaceful and credible elections in all the states.

Election Commission

How many assembly seats are in which state?

StateAssembly seat
Madhya Pradesh203