Defense Ministry formally sanctions Permanent Commission to Women Officers in all streams of Indian Army

Woman officers

New Delhi: Defence Ministry has issued the formal Government Sanction Letter for grant of Permanent Commission (PC) to Women Officers in the Indian Army.
This will pave the way for empowering Women Officers to shoulder larger roles in the organization. The order specifies grant of PC to Short Service Commissioned (SSC) Women Officers in all ten streams of the Indian Army namely, Army Air Defence (AAD), Signals, Engineers, Army Aviation, Electronics and Mechanical Engineers (EME), Army Service Corps (ASC), Army Ordnance Corps (AOC), and Intelligence Corps in addition to the existing streams of Judge and Advocate General (JAG) and Army Educational Corps (AEC).

Army Headquarters had set in motion a series of preparatory actions for the conduct of the Permanent Commission Selection Board for affected Women Officers. The Selection Board will be scheduled as soon as all affected SSC Women Officers exercise their option and complete requisite documentation.

Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar congratulated the government for sanctioning permanent commission to women officers in all ten streams of Army. In a tweet, he said, this is real empowerment of women.