Assembly By-Polls: Voting Commences Across Seven States

Assembly By-Polls

New Delhi: Today, Wednesday, July 10, voters across seven states are heading to the polls for by-elections in 13 assembly constituencies. Let’s dive into the specifics:

  1. West Bengal:
  • Raiganj: Polling is underway in Raiganj, where BJP’s Krishna Kalyani faces off against a TMC candidate.
  • Ranaghat Dakshin: TMC’s Mukut Mani Adhikari competes against a BJP candidate.
  • Bagda: TMC’s Madhuparna Thakur is up against a BJP candidate.
  • Maniktala: BJP’s Kalyan Chaubey challenges TMC’s Supti Pande.
  1. Punjab:
  • Jalandhar West: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) nominee Mohinder Bhagat takes on Congress candidate Surinder Kaur. This seat became vacant after AAP MLA Sheetal Angural resigned and joined the BJP.
  1. Uttarakhand:
  • Manglaur: A three-cornered contest ensues following the demise of sitting BSP MLA Sarwat Karim Ansari last year.
  • Badrinath: The seat became vacant after Congress MLA Rajendra Bhandari joined the BJP.
  1. Himachal Pradesh:
  • Dehra, Hamirpur, and Nalagarh: Bypolls are being held in these three constituencies due to the resignation of independent MLAs who later joined the BJP.
  1. Tamil Nadu:
  • Vikravandi: Voters head to the polls in this assembly constituency.
Assembly By-Polls
  1. Madhya Pradesh:
  • Amarwara: Bypolls are taking place in Amarwara.

The results of these by-elections, which come after the Lok Sabha elections, could significantly impact the political landscape in these states ahead of upcoming state elections.