Know the history of women’s Wimbledon and list of winners

history of women's Wimbledon

The women’s singles event at Wimbledon, the oldest and most prestigious tennis tournament in the world, started in 1884, seven years after the men’s singles. The tournament is held annually at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in London, on outdoor grass courts12

The women’s singles champion receives a sterling silver salver known as the Venus Rosewater Dish, which is decorated with figures from mythology. The prize money for the 2023 champion was £ 1,700,00013

The women’s singles event has undergone several changes in its rules and format over the years. From 1886 to 1921, the tournament had a challenge round system, where the defending champion only played in the final against the winner of the all-comers’ singles. The challenge round was abolished in 1922, and since then, all players have to compete in a knockout draw1

The matches have always been played at best-of-three sets, but the scoring system has varied. Until 1970, all sets were decided by a two-game advantage. In 1971, a tie-break was introduced for the first two sets, played at eight games-all until 1978 and at six games-all since 1979. The third set is still decided by a two-game advantage1

The women’s singles event has produced many legendary champions and memorable matches. The player with the most titles in the amateur era is Helen Wills Moody, who won eight titles between 1927 and 1938. The player with the most titles in the open era is Martina Navratilova, who won nine titles between 1978 and 1990, including six consecutive ones from 1982 to 1987. The player with the most consecutive titles overall is Suzanne Lenglen, who won three titles from 1919 to 1921

Here is the list of women’s singles winners at Wimbledon

2023Markéta VondroušováAshleigh Barty6–4, 6–3
2022Simona HalepSerena Williams6–2, 6–2
2021Angelique KerberSerena Williams6–3, 6–3
2020Not held due to COVID-19 pandemic
2019Simona HalepSerena Williams6–2, 6–2
2018Angelique KerberSerena Williams6–3, 6–3
2017Garbiñe MuguruzaVenus Williams7–5, 6–0
2016Serena WilliamsAngelique Kerber7–5, 6–3
2015Serena WilliamsGarbiñe Muguruza6–4, 6–4
history of women's Wimbledon